, Port Arthur, Texas

Local News

June 5, 2007

PAISD makes leadership changes

PORT ARTHUR — A major change in the leadership line-up at Port Arthur ISD schools is soon to come.

Bannister Baptiste, previously the principal for Memorial Ninth Grade Center, was reassigned as interim science curriculum supervisor while Raymond Polk, currently interim principal at Edison Middle School, will move on to serve as interim principal at the Ninth Grade Center.

Sharon Dozier-Davis, who has served as interim principal at Memorial High School, will now receive the full title of principal. Melissa Olivia-Rosa and Glenn Hays will take the title of assistant principals of MHS.

Davis and Polk have flip-flopped campuses in the past — Polk once served as principal at MHS while Dozier-Davis served as principal at Edison Middle School.

Trustees were scheduled to spend an hour in closed session but instead spent more than 2 1/2 hours deciding on the staff administrative changes Tuesday night. All of the changes were approved unanimously.

The staff changes left Brenda Coleman, previously the assistant principal at the Ninth Grade Center, and Kennedy Giles, previously interim assistant principal at Austin Middle School, with no new assignments yet.

Four new positions will be added to the mix but no assignments have been made. The positions include: director of students at-risk and support services, media relations specialist, student activities facilitator and campus security monitor. The last three of these positions have been placed in the proposed 2007-2008 budget.

Other new assignments include: Marjorie Cole, fine arts supervisor; Emma Gene Rowry, interim academic officer K-12; Debra Lewis, interim director of special education; Sharon Boutte, interim special education supervisor; Edna Edwards, interim elementary curriculum supervisor; Donna Laverne, interim assistant principal at MHS and Ninth Grade Center; Emily Moore, interim principal Austin Middle School; Loyce Comeaux, interim principal Edison Middle School.

And Albert Moses, assistant principal Edison Middle School; Barbara Polk, interim principal Houston Elementary School; Cathy Sandoval, interim principal Tyrrell Elementary School; Karla Obregon, interim assistant principal Tyrrell Elementary School; LaTonya Waters, assistant principal Franklin PreK-8 technology theme school; Mustafa Abdul-Jabbar, interim administrative facilitator for cultural diversity initiatives at the Ninth Grade Center; Fernando Ramirez, immigrant community liaison Ninth Grade Center.

Text Only
Local News