, Port Arthur, Texas

Local News

March 11, 2013

Filing ends for special May election

PORT ARTHUR — Two candidates will vie for the District 4 seat on the Port Arthur City Council in the May 11 election.

The deadline for filing for this specially called election was Monday, and only Robert Troy, 69, and Rosalind Linden-Queen, 61, had submitted their applications to the city secretary’s office.

Linden-Queen is a veteran and vice president of the Port Arthur Beautification Commission. Troy is a retired merchant marine.

The District 4 council seat opened up for election because its current resident, Harold Doucet, has filed to run for mayor and must vacant his council seat to do so. Doucet announced his intention to run for mayor in October.

District 4 encompasses the area from Texas 73 to West Port Arthur Road to U.S. 69, excluding the Jack Brooks Regional Airport.

Mayor Deloris “Bobbie” Prince has filed to run for mayor again. If elected, this would be Prince’s last term as mayor of Port Arthur. She is currently serving her second three-year term.

Port Arthur native Lowra Reado-Harrison filed to run for mayor, as well. Reado-Harrison, 52, is an environmental specialist and Army veteran.

Six people will be seeking one of the two seats up for election on the Port Arthur ISD board.

Robert Reid, 47, an educator, filed for a spot on the school board.

Other candidates include Port Arthur natives Regina Drake, 45; Julia Samuels, 73; Anthony McDaniel, 46; and Tracy Thomas, 37; had filed for the office along with current board of secretary Theodore “Theo” Victor, 43.

Meanwhile, the Port of Port Arthur canceled its election for two commissioner seats. Only the incumbents had filed to fill the seats by the March 1 deadline.

The election costs approximately $30,000, said Floyd Gaspard, executive port director. But since no one filed against the incumbents, the port would not need to spend the taxpayer’s money on an election.

The two seats that were up for election are occupied by Mark Underhill and Raymond Johnson. Underhill has served on the port board of commissioners since 2001, and Johnson has served since 1987, Gaspard said. Each seat has a six-year term, and there are five commissioner seats.

Officers will be selected and Underhill and Johnson will be sworn in again on May 11.

Text Only
Local News