, Port Arthur, Texas

January 30, 2013

Filing opens for May 11 election

Port Arthur News

— Wednesday is the first day qualified residents can file for the city, school board and special district elections that will be held May 11.

The cities of Groves and Port Neches and the Port Neches-Groves ISD hold their elections in November.

Port Arthur mayor, city council

Mayor Deloris “Bobbie” Prince has said she plans to run for mayor again. If elected, this would be Prince’s last term as mayor of Port Arthur. She is currently serving her second three-year term.

March 1 is the last day to file for the May mayoral election.

The District 4 council seat is also up for grabs this year. Current District 4 Councilman Harold Doucet will vacate his seat because he has said he planned to run for mayor. Each position has a three-year term.

For the special District 4 election — which will be part of the regular May election — candidates have from Feb. 9 until March 11 to file. District 4 encompasses the area from Texas 73 to West Port Arthur Road to U.S. 69, excluding the Jack Brooks Regional Airport.

Candidates must file their election information packages with the city secretary, Sherri Bellard.

To run in the May election, candidates must be at least 21 years old, a resident of Texas and Port Arthur, and a registered voter. They must have lived in Port Arthur for at least the past 12 months, and they must have resided in District 4 — if planning to run for the council seat — for at least the past 6 months.

Candidates may not hold any other elected office.

Nederland City Council

Filing for two seats on Nederland City Council will begin on Wednesday. The seats held by Ward 1 Councilmember Talmadge Austin and Ward 3 Councilmember Don Albanese are up for grabs. Terms are for two years.

Persons seeking office need to be a resident of the city of Nederland for one year. Twenty-five signatures or $25 filing fee is required.

Filing runs though 5 p.m. March 1 at city hall, 1400 Boston Ave. For more information, call City Clerk Gay Ferguson at 723-1505.

Bridge City City Council

The terms of Kevin Mott, Place 1; Robert Simonton Jr., Place 3; and Richard Savoy, Place 5; expire May 11 on the Bridge City City Council. Both Mott and Simonton are only eligible to serve one more term in office if they seek re-election this year. Applications can be obtained from the City Secretary's office at City Hall, 260 Rachal, Bridge City.

Port Arthur ISD

On the Port Arthur ISD school board, the two seats vacated by Willie Mae Elmore and Theodore Victor will be up for election on May 11. Candidates may file between 7:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Port Arthur ISD administration office, 4801 Ninth Ave. Filing ends March 1 at 5 p.m. For more information, contact Phyllis Geans at 989-6236. Candidates must be at least 18 years old, a registered voter and a resident with no felony convictions.

Nedeerland ISD

There are two spots available on the Nederland ISD school board, with board members Suzanne Isom and Nicholas Phillips reaching the end of their terms.

Filing for Nederland ISD begins today and candidates may file at the superintendent’s office at the Nederland ISD administration office, 220 N. 17th St., from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Thursday and from 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Friday. Filing ends at 5 p.m. March 1. For more information, contact Sheila Davis at 724-2391, ext. 1201. Candidates must be at least 18 years old, a registered voter and a resident with no felony convictions.

Bridge City ISD

The terms of Rebecca Rutledge, Place 3; Thad Hill, Place 4; and Jerry McInnis, Place 5; on the Bridge City ISD board of trustees expire this year.

Candidates may file for election from 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Bridge City ISD Administration Building, 1031 W. Roundbunch Rd., Bridge City, through March 1. Click on the “School Board” tab of the district’s website at or call 409-735-1511 if additional assistance is required.

Jefferson County Water District 10

Jefferson County Water District 10 will hold a bond election for improvements to its water plant.

The improvements include electrical and instrumentation upgrades and new clarification equipment, according to information from Water District 10.

Cost estimates are not available at this time as the board of directors is awaiting final engineering information.

Port of Port Arthur

Two commissioner seats on the Port of Port Arthur board are up for election this year.

The seats are currently held by Raymond Johnson and Mark Underhill. Each position has a six-year term. Officers would be selected after the May election.

Candidates must file with the Port of Port Arthur office. They must be a taxpaying resident of the city and a registered voter.

Candidates can file up to 71 days prior to the election on May 11.

Sabine Pass

Three commissioner seats on the Sabine Pass Port Authority board are up for election this year.

The seats are currently held by Lin Berg, Tommy Pelletier and Charles Adkins. Each position has a two-year term.

Candidates must file with Sabine Pass Port Authority office and be a resident of Sabine Pass.