, Port Arthur, Texas

Local News

April 29, 2014

Early voting begins in city, ISD races

PORT ARTHUR — Early voting for a crowded May 10 municipal and school board trustee election has begun.

In  Port Arthur, 13 people are seeking six open City Council seats.

Those expiring seats include: District 1, currently held by Raymond Scott Jr.; District 2, held by Elizabeth “Liz” Segler; District 3, held by Morris Albright III; District 4, formerly held by Robert Troy; Position 7, held by Derrick Freeman; and Position 8, held by Kerry “Twin” Thomas.

For the District 1 seat, Mike Mason is challenging incumbent Scott.

The District 2 seat has three candidates: Carroll “Cal” Jones, Tiffany Hamilton and Maria Block. Incumbent Liz Segler is not seeking re-election.

In the District 4 race, “The Breeze” radio station owner Stephen A. Mosely is facing challenger Laura Miguez for the seat. Miguez, 43, is a lead operator.

Position 7 also has two candidates: Incumbent Derrick Freeman and Reginald Trainer.

The Position 8 seat is busy with three candidates: incumbent Kerry Thomas, Lowra Reado-Harrison, and Kaprina Richardson Frank.

Five candidates are vying for two seats up for election on the Port Arthur Independent School District board of trustees, including incumbents Thomas Kinlaw III, and Kenneth Lofton Jr.

Debra Drake Ambroise, Efrain Avendano and Anthony McDaniel round out the list of candidates.

The Nederland Independent School District board of trustees canceled its May elections.

Incumbents Marty Byrd and Kay Decuir were the lone filers for their respective seats, and Ron Burkhalter filed to keep the seat to which he was appointed after Everett Sanderson resigned last May.

The City of Nederland also canceled its election as candidates did not draw any opponents.

Mayor R.A. “Dick” Nugent and Ward 2 Councilman Billy Neal will keep their seats as they as unopposed.

Craig Belaire, 48, a wealth management advisor with Merrill Lynch in Beaumont, will take the Ward 4 position that was held by Bert Rogers, who opted not to run for reelection.

Residents in the Jefferson County Water District No. 10 area will be able to vote on a $1 million bond for the construction of a new fire station.

Early voting runs through May 6. Election Day is May 10.


Twitter: @MaryMeauxPANews

Text Only
Local News