, Port Arthur, Texas

Local News

April 30, 2013

Charter Change and EDC referendum for May 11 Port Arthur election

PORT ARTHUR — 11 Proposed Amendments to the Charter of the City of Port Arthur and an additional referendum on the use of EDC funds.


Shall the Charter of the City of Port Arthur be amended to add the following preamble?

We, the citizens of Port Arthur, Texas, in order to establish a home rule type municipal government which provides for the progress of our City, to secure fully the benefits of local self government, to promote economic and cultural prosperity, to provide for the common welfare, to insure health and safety, to support municipal cooperation, and to encourage all citizens to participate in the process of self governance, hereby adopt this Home Rule Charter as an expression of our City purpose and in accordance with the laws of the State of Texas; we declare the City of Port Arthur in Jefferson County to be a political subdivision of the State of Texas with all powers, rights, privileges, authorities duties and immunities of local self government as provided and limited in this Charter.


Shall Article II, Section 1 of the Charter of the City of Port Arthur be amended to state the following?

The Council shall be composed of a Mayor and Eight Councilmembers, each of whom, unless sooner removed under the provisions of this Charter, shall serve for a three-year term, from the first meeting of the Council following his election, and until his successor has been elected and duly qualified. One Councilmember from each of the six Districts shall be elected by majority vote of the qualified voters of the respective District. One Councilmember for Positions Numbered Seven and Eight and the Mayor shall be elected at large by the qualified voters of the City. The Mayor and Councilmember for Positions Seven and Eight shall be elected by majority vote and may reside in any District. After May 2013, neither the Mayor nor any Councilmember shall serve more than two consecutive three-year terms in the same office. This provision will apply to those newly elected to the positions of Mayor and Council that take office after the May 2013 Election.

Text Only
Local News