, Port Arthur, Texas


April 3, 2011

Registered nurse named Volunteer of the Year

BEAUMONT — The “Gift of Life” applauded the hard work of nearly 400 volunteers who selflessly donated more than 5,200 hours of service in 2010. In recognition of her devoted service to the organization, breast cancer survivor Charlotte Mains, RN, a “Gift of Life” board member, was presented with the “Volunteer of the Year” Award.

Serving as Master of Ceremonies, Bill Leger, KFDM TV-Channel 6 News Anchor, noted the “Gift of Life's” 2010 accomplishments. Last year, the program provided nearly 2,000 free breast and prostate cancer screenings for medically underserved women and men in Southeast Texas; and also conducted 84 Sidney “Chief” Dauphin Educational Outreach encounters, which touched the lives of almost 17,000 individuals, with 4,000 children and adults receiving critical information through the organization's “Don't Smoke Your Life Away” Tobacco Program.

Additional individuals recognized with their respective awards are: Ann Lee and Joseph Kong, MD, FACR, FASTRO, “Program Visionary” Awards; “Gift of Life” Board Vice President, Marty Craig (breast cancer survivor), “Legendary Leader” Award; Gwendolyn Lavalais, MD, “Lifesaver Extraordinaire” Award; and Tawana Cadien, RN, Bertha Collins (breast cancer survivor), Blake Comeaux, Cecilia Duco, RN BSN, Pamela Fischer, Hanan Hamdan, RN, Adanna Henry, Alberta Jones, Gay-Lynne Jones, RN, Melissa Lambert, Pat McKee (breast cancer survivor) and Irene Ramirez, RN, “Spirit of Volunteerism” Awards.

New board members who were introduced are: Dorrie Adolph, Charlene Babineaux, Vicki Bauer, Elizabeth Brown, Don Dodd, Sandy Fertitta, Marie Floyd, Marilyn Gripon, Gennis Hauck, Becky Hunter, RN, BSN, Joyce Jacob, Jane McBride (breast cancer survivor), Bill Offill, Tonya Toups, Shelly Vitanza and Maureen Winchell, RN.

Board Officers slated for 2011 are: Rogers, Chair; Nell McCallum Morris, President; Marty Craig, Vice President; Linda Domino, Vice President; Dora Nisby, Treasurer; Donna Harris, Secretary; and Paula O'Neal, Parliamentarian.

Text Only
Find us on Facebook